Interview: Chatting with the Lovely Emilie Clarke

8 Feb
Screen shot 2013-02-04 at 11.45.26 PM

There have been quite a few exciting interviews taking place here at Merzybean and this interview will not disappoint. I had the chance to speak with Emilie Clarke, a Radio Announcer for Virgin Radio in Vancouver and a YouTuber. Emilie is incredibly down to earth and relatable and we share the same interests, so I really enjoy watching her videos on YouTube. It was a pleasure to interview Emilie!

I hope you enjoy reading what she has to say and make sure to check out her YouTube channel and connect with her via social media.

MB: What made you decide to start a YouTube channel?

EC: A couple years ago, I was researching Louis Vuitton bags and when I googled “Louis Vuitton Speedy” a video by JuicyTuesday came up. It was her handbag collection. I clicked on it and then watched 20 of her other videos. Then I started watching videos by other girls and I thought… “I can do this. This is fun” and so I did.

MB: Did you have any reservations about YouTubing?

EC: Not really. With my job I have to have a tough skin so it has come in handy once or twice.  Plus, if you want to do something nothing should stop you… especially worrying about what people think.

MB: What have you learned about yourself since becoming a YouTuber?

EC: I’ve learned that my video style is easily swayed. If I’ve just watched a video by @nguerriero19 and then I record, I’m much more raw and gangster like in my videos. But if I’ve just watching a video by @MissGlamarozzi then I’m happier and spunkier.  I don’t know why.

MB: What advice do you have for someone debating whether or not to start a YouTube channel?

EC: 100% only do videos you would like to see. Otherwise you could come off fake in your videos and no one likes that.

MB:  What are your five beauty must haves?

EC: In order of necessity: mascara, concealer, lip balm or gloss, brow gel & tinted moisturizer.

MB: Who is your favourite Kardashian?

EC: Kim is my favourite but I’d rather Khloe’s life.

MB: How is married life? Had to ask, I’m getting married in July!

EC: It’s the same. Everyone always asks but Bill and I have been together for 6 years now. The only thing that has changed is that kids come up in the conversation a lot more.  I’m the luckiest girl to be able to call Bill my best friend.

MB: What does a typical day look like in the life of Emilie?

EC: I do have a couple of ‘follow me around’ videos on my channel. But usually I wake up, have coffee immediately, watch YouTube videos or TV, work out and go to work.  I don’t have to be at work until 5pm so… it’s a pretty chill day.

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 12.09.03 AM
You can get in contact with Emilie via her various social media:

Instagram

Thank you again to Emilie for taking the time to do this interview with me.

Merzybean.

What's your two cents?

