Senseless Violence

20 Jul

It is with a very heavy heart that I write this post today. Just a few days ago I blogged about living in the moment after the recent shooting in Scarborough, Ontario.

This morning I woke up to my Twitter timeline being flooded with trending topics such as theatre shooting, Batman, Colorado, Denver, Eaton Centre, and James Holmes. Before even opening the BBC website to read the full story, I had already pieced together the events of the terrible tragedy.

The news of the shooting in Colorado left me feeling cold and my stomach has been in knots ever since reading several stories and watching CNN over the past hour.

Senseless killings and innocent victims.

One of the many things that disturbs me a lot and literally made me cold when I read about it was the story of Jessica Ghawi, known as Jessica Redfield on Twitter. An aspiring sports journalist who escaped the Eaton Centre shooting in Toronto blogged about her experience and how precious life is. I was devastated to read that Ghawi was one of the victims of the theatre shooting last night. I couldn’t believe what I was reading and still have a hard time processing it all.

My thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected by this tragedy, as well as all of the other shootings that have taken place recently.

Merzybean.

One Response to “Senseless Violence”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hurting Hearts for Sandy Hook Elementary School « Merzybean - December 14, 2012

    […] in the mass shootings in Colorado and the Toronto Eaton Centre. My last blog post was entitled Senseless Violence. Today, the word senseless does not even begin to describe what happened in Newtown, […]

What's your two cents?

