Euro Cup Fever

25 Jun

The Euro Cup is in full force and what an exciting time it is for football fans, or soccer to those of us in North America. Apart from the beauty of the game itself, I love the Euro Cup because it gives fans an excuse to celebrate their nationality and their roots. The flags come out and everyone’s pride shines brightly. My family is no different, as we dusted off our Greek flag and English flag and got our cars Euro Cup ready. When watching the games at home or at the bar, we always make sure to find a jersey or t-shirt to show our pride for our teams!

Unfortunately, both of the teams that I support are no longer in the competition, but I still pick a team every game to support and cheer on. Greece made me very proud and I was so thrilled with their perseverance and resilience. England lost to Italy in penalty kicks yesterday and while I was rooting for my English favourites, the better team that day won. I was still proud of my favourite players and am glad we made it that far, even though I was hoping for England to advance into the semi-finals!

I think that it is so important for football fans to remember that the Euro Cup (and any international sports event, for that matter) is not meant to divide people, but rather to bring people together. I think that a healthy competition and rivalry always adds a bit of spice and fun to sports competitions, but where do we draw the line? I’m sad to see that there are some people who use these types of sporting events to make digs and unnecessary comments about players and countries. Instead, let’s celebrate the fact that the love of soccer has the ability to bring athletes and fans together on a worldwide platform.

I love seeing fans sporting their team’s jersey and their faces painted, screaming and cheering while waving their flags. This pride makes me beam and is what the Euro Cup is all about.

Until next time,

Merzybean.

One Response to “Euro Cup Fever”

  1. D3 June 26, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    This publication has inspired me to start writing on my own blog

What's your two cents?

