1 Girl 1 Gay: Chatting with Philip Tetro from 1 Girl 5 Gays

24 May

Here in Toronto, MTV films a television show called 1 Girl 5 Gays (1G5G), which features a panel of five gay men who, along with the endearing host, Aliya-Jasmine Sovani, share candid and personal experiences on a wide variety of topics in each episode. The beauty of the show is that it alternates its panel members every week, so the audience never knows who to expect to see sitting on the couches. There are over ten panel members who the audience has grown to know and relate to. As a fan of the show, not a week goes by where I don’t watch an episode. The show brings awareness, laughter, tears and all other imaginable emotions every week to its audience. Each panel member is unique and speaks his mind, often leaving nothing unsaid!

With that being said, I recently had the privilege of asking Philip Tetro, one of the show’s most loveable panel members, some questions about himself and about his experience with 1G5G.

Photo credit: Brianna Premo Photography

Philip Tetro is a Toronto-based singer, actor, choreographer, blogger and television personality. Born and raised in Mississauga, just west of Toronto, Philip learned at a young age that self-expression, positivity and confidence are vital parts of being the best person you can be.

Tell me how you started on 1 Girl 5 Gays.

I was originally on The After Show (with Dan Levy and Jessi Cruickshank). Everyone kept telling me that I should audition for 1 girl 5 gays, but I didn’t seriously consider it until I heard The After Show was ending and I didn’t want to leave MTV just yet. I had my audition for 1g5g on a Wednesday and I did my first episode not even four days later.

Do you use 1G5G as a platform to educate viewers and put out a message?

I didn’t have any goals or intentions when I started 1g5g, but I quickly realized the reason why the show is so popular is because people can relate to us. All I’ve ever been is myself, and if people learn from that or get a message from that, then I’m proud to do so.

Why is it important to you to have a show on the air about love and sex in the gay community?

I think it’s important to have a popular show about sex in general. Our generation was missing a place to talk about things that every person, gay or otherwise, can relate to or understand. There’s relief in knowing that there are people your age out there who go through similar sexual experiences as you and that it’s okay to talk about them.

How do you react when viewers say that the show represents the gay community of Toronto negatively/positively?

It’s difficult to think that one television show can represent an entire group of people entirely – that was never our goal. Does Modern Family represent every family? Did Will and Grace represent every relationship between a gay man and his straight, female best friend? We represent ourselves and I think that’s the most important thing. It was never my intention to represent anyone otherwise.

You seem comfortable in your own skin. Have you always felt this way?

Yes! My mother taught me that you can’t love anyone else before you love yourself entirely, so I learned from a young age that confidence and self-esteem are key to being happy.

What advice would you offer an LGBT youth, struggling to find his/her identity?

Stop struggling. Let it happen!

Has 1G5G opened new doors for you?

Absolutely! It’s helped me make life-long friendships with a fraternity of brothers that I can turn to at anytime. The experience I have with MTV is so special and unique: if the only door that opens for me is the one with twenty of my closest friends inside of it, then that’s the door I want to open.

What are you passionate about that you don’t get to discuss on the show?

That’s the best thing about this show: nothing is off-limits. I can just as easily cry about Christmas as I can talk about oral sex!

Last question, can’t escape a Philip Tetro interview without asking about your undying love for Madonna and how her music influences you.

There’s a Madonna song for every mood or situation that I’m in. She’s taught me about self-expression, dancing, not having any regrets, how to deal with men, how to appreciate the relationship with my family/parents, and how to deal with a broken heart. Her music is my bible.

1 Girl 5 Gays airs Fridays at 11:00 p.m. on MTV

A huge thank you to Philip for taking the time to answer my questions so candidly. You can connect with Philip on Twitter and Facebook.

Until next time,

Merzybean.

3 Responses to “1 Girl 1 Gay: Chatting with Philip Tetro from 1 Girl 5 Gays”

  1. Singh Kulwant May 24, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Nice blog and posts .
    Visit my blog LOYFLY

  2. vartevarlfc May 30, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    YOU GO GIRL! AWESOME!

What's your two cents?

