Tune-day Tuesday: ‘The Voice’ Finalists

8 May

For something a little bit different this week, I decided (thanks to the brilliance of my brother) to feature the finalists of NBC’s ‘The Voice‘ for my Tune-day Tuesday installment. Tonight, the ultimate champion is awarded the title of The Voice, while receiving the ultimate prize in the industry, $100, 000 and a record deal with Universal Republic!

Those who watch the show are familiar with the show’s format, and for those of you who don’t, this is how it works:

  • Blind Auditions
  • Battle Rounds
  • America Votes
Onto the fun stuff, the music! Led by four current and diverse musician coaches, Christina Aguilera, Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, and Cee Lo Green, the contestants are mentored and guided throughout the journey that is the show. Each coach/mentor has one musician remaining in the competition for the finale and for Tune-day Tuesday, I picked my favourite song performed by the finalists last night.
Team Cee Lo Green: Juliet Simms singing Free Bird
Juliet Simms has such a beautiful, raspy voice and has been likened to legends such as Janice Joplin and even Steven Tyler. I absolutely love the tone and texture of her voice and I think that she is the definition of a female powerhouse rocker. With every note she sings, I feel her emotion and passion for singing and this is something that I admire in an artist. Last night, Simms sang Free Bird (Lynyrd Skynyrd) and Adam Levine said it best, the grit she put into that song was perfect and quite untouchable. The song was symbolic in terms of the point at which the competition is at, as well as the future that lies ahead for Simms’ career. I am a true fan, as she slays every song she performs.
The point in the competition, where Simms proved that she was the woman to beat was when she performed James Brown’s It’s A Man’s, Man’s Man’s World and blew it out of the water. For that reason alone, it is worth me posting for your listening and viewing pleasure. It is also ironic and worth nothing that Simms is the only woman left in the finale, and I think that she has a strong chance of winning (if it was up to me). I can honestly say that I would buy her album today.
Team Christina Aguliera: Chris Mann singing You Raise Me Up
Chris Mann brings such a beautiful uniqueness to The Voice (as well as its competitor show, American Idol) because of his strong Operatic background. With the support of Christina Aguilera, Mann never steered too far from his Operatic roots in order to fit in and become a “mainstream” artist. This is part of the reason I love him so much as an artist, and it contributes to why I respect his artistry so much. When I first saw Mann early on in the competition, I was on the fence and couldn’t decide if I was going to land up being a fan of his, partially due to what I thought was a bit of an ego. However, after his performance of Josh Groban’s You Raise Me Up last night, I was blown away and that performance and his humility confirmed that I am in fact a fan. He could not have ended the season on a more appropriate and poignant note, in my opinion. He did an incredibly beautiful rendition of Groban’s gut wrenching song and did it justice. Mann has the ability to bridge the gap between a younger audience and a more mature sound, and the fact that he is one of the finalists of the show has proven that he has indeed bridged the gap. As Cee Lo said last night, he was “so cool”.
Team Adam Levine: Tony Lucca singing 99 Problems
When I heard that Tony Lucca was going to be singing 99 Problems, which is originally a Jay-Z song (who I am a huge fan of) I was a little bit skeptical about it, to be honest. I think that it was a very brave risk that he took and while I enjoyed his rendition, he certainly didn’t avoid the backlash of Christina Aguilera, who was unimpressed with the song’s misogynist undertone. He did a great job of making the song his own and holding onto the metaphor of the song and owning that it is the obstacles that life presents which are the b*tches/problems! I think that it is very difficult to take a song like 99 Problems and cross genres the way Lucca did. Overall, I did enjoy it though. He brought a refreshing and upbeat vibe to the song and while I enjoyed his performance last night, along with his performances throughout the season, I don’t think that Lucca will be the last one standing with the title of The Voice.
Team Blake Shelton: Jermaine Paul singing I Believe I Can Fly
Jermaine Paul caught everyone’s attention early on in the competition because of his role as a background singer for the ever so talented, Alicia Keys. With a voice like his, it was truly only a matter of time before Paul moved from a background singer to a solo artist in his own rite. He sings with so much soul and power and his rendition of I Believe I Can Fly, like Mann singing You Raise Me Up, was extremely appropriate for the point at which the competition is at. Cee Lo said that Paul sings with such simplicity and I couldn’t agree with that statement more. His voice is so strong and he makes it seem so effortless as he truly reaches the audience and connects with the songs that he chooses. His coach, Blake Shelton, paid him the highest of compliments, telling him that he wishes he could channel his performances as well as Paul does.
It is safe to say that I love The Voice as well as all four of the final contestants! The finale airs on NBC in 15 minutes, so with that being said I am going to end this blog post. Please share who your favourite artist is and it’ll be exciting to see who America has chosen to be the ultimate victor.
Merzybean.
3 Responses to “Tune-day Tuesday: ‘The Voice’ Finalists”

  1. George May 9, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    excellent blog!!

  2. vartevarlfc May 9, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    that was bloody fantastic!!!!

What's your two cents?

