Tune-day Tuesday: Gotye feat. Kimbra- Somebody That I Used To Know

10 Apr

I know that I’m a little bit late with this Tune-day Tuesday feature, but I couldn’t leave it any longer! Somebody That I Used to Know, off of Gotye’s third album Making Mirrors, has been gaining popularity since its July 2011 release, and rightfully so. I love when you can listen to a song on a top 40s radio station as well as on the alternative rock station. The song has an 80s feel to it and the balance between the singing and the instrumentation is just right, in my opinion.

What I love so much about the song is the power that Gotye puts into the chorus. The build up to the chorus is haunting and pulls on my heart strings because I can truly feel every lyric. The lyrics place me back to past memories. The song, featuring New Zealand artist Kimbra, puts out a very powerful message quite simply. How many of us have people in our lives, who we were once very close with in one way or another, and now they’re simply just somebody that we used to know?

I told myself that you were right for me
But felt so lonely in your company

But that was love and it’s an ache I still remember

I find that there are so many people who can listen to these lyrics and completely understand what Gotye is singing about. Feeling so alone while you’re in someone’s company, we’ve all been there.

Amazingly enough, the Walk Off The Earth cover has a staggering amount of views. I’m sure if you know the song, you have seen this video. If not, it’s a must see:

But you didn’t have to cut me off                                                                                            

Make it like it never happened and that we were nothing                                            

I don’t even need your love, but you treat me like a stranger                                   

And that feels so rough

That’s all,

Merzybean.

One Response to “Tune-day Tuesday: Gotye feat. Kimbra- Somebody That I Used To Know”

  1. vartevarlfc April 17, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    I LOATHE THE COVER OF THIS SONG! they ruined it for me personally!

What's your two cents?

