Tune-day Tuesday: Coldplay- Paradise

21 Mar

Tune-day Tuesday is back and this was the first week (I only have two posts in this category thus far, so not really a staggering comment) that I had to think about what song I would feature. That is simply because the first two posts, Aleesia ft. Big Sean- Kiss it Bye Bye and Fun ft. Janelle Monae- We Are Young, were songs that I was dying to share my feelings about.

Coldplay has been one of my favourite bands for as long as I can remember and the band always reminds me of a very special person in my life, Lara. I attended my first Coldplay concert ย with Lara and we sang the night away, along with Chris Martin.

This week’s song choice is very fitting for my life, and I think the life of any young person who fancies his/herself a dreamer. Paradise is off of Coldplay’s fifth album, Mylo Kyloto. The fact that half of the video was shot in South Africa makes me love it even more.

The lyrics mirror the journey of a life where someone faces hardships but continues to dream.

When she was just a girl
She expected the world
But it flew away from her reach
So she ran away in her sleep
Dreamed of para- para- paradise

How many of us can say that growing up, ย the dreams and aspirations that we had as children, far exceeded what is humanly possible? Regardless of the challenges that we face in reality, paradise can always be found in a dream and these dreams foster the ideas and goals that we develop and build along the way.

Life goes on
It gets so heavy
The wheel breaks the butterfly
Every tear, a waterfall
In the night, the stormy night
She closed her eyes
In the night, the stormy night
Away she’d fly.

This is one of the most beautiful Coldplay songs because of its musical and lyrical simplicity that, in turn, resonates such a profound meaning.

Keep dreaming,

Merzybean.

5 Responses to “Tune-day Tuesday: Coldplay- Paradise”

  1. carlybumstead March 21, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I love tune-day Tuesday! And I looove Coldplay. They are on the top of my wish list for bands I need to see live. So I’m totally jealous of you and your friend. Hopefully I can make it happen sometime soon!

    • merzybean March 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Thanks, Carly! Tune-day Tuesday is fun to put together.

      You definitely NEED to see Coldplay in concert. Perhaps the next time they’re in town, we can go together ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lara March 21, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Bubs! Our Coldplay experience was unforgettable. I’ve got Coldplay on repeat today all thanks to youxx When I’m back in t.o. we’ll have to bust out the old CD’s and have a listening party.

  3. Jeremy March 22, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Very nice keep them coming love reading our blogs

What's your two cents?

