Movie Review: Friends with Kids

20 Mar

This is a first for me, and perhaps I should leave the movie reviews to the experts (my brother, Andrew, has a wonderful film blog: Who Cares? Reviews), but I couldn’t help myself. After seeing Friends with Kids, I felt the need to share how wonderfully witty this movie is with the world! Knowing that the majority of the cast starred in Bridesmaids together could have an influence on someone going to see this movie, both in a positive and negative way. For me, it turned out to be a very positive thing and having seen Bridesmaids did not skew my perception of this movie at all. With that being said, I loved Bridesmaids and what I’m trying to get at is that both films were excellent in their own right, and were very different.

The basic premise of the film is that there are two best friends who both want to have children but decide to have a child together, while maintaining a platonic relationship. The goal of this plan is to avoid the issues that their married friends, with kids, were experiencing. While this plot sounds familiar (yes, it has done before) the writing and the delivery of the lines are spot on and what drive the success of the movie. Jennifer Westfeldt, who wrote, directed and starred in the movie, did a phenomenal job in all three roles in my opinion. Again, like I said, my opinion might not have the weight of a true film critic, but this is my blog and I get to call the shots around here!

The humour in the film was very clever, well timed and had me laughing often, and not at the slapstick comedy that I got from 21 Jump Street, but the kind of humour that is relatable on a personal, and perhaps even metaphysical, level. The movie showed a raw look into the intricacy of relationships and took the audience for an emotional ride, along with the characters!
The irony  of the film is how a deviation from tradition doesn’t always result the way it is initially intended. I don’t want to give a spoiler away, so I will leave it at that!
See you at the movies,
Merzybean.
2 Responses to “Movie Review: Friends with Kids”

  1. CMrok93 March 20, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    There wasn’t anything here that made me laugh-out-loud but there was definitely just enough of insight and good performances to hold me over. However, when you have 4 of the main cast members from the biggest comedy of last year, it’s kind of lame to give them really nothing funny to do or say. Good review.

    • merzybean March 20, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

      Yeah, I can see why you didn’t have any laugh-out-loud moments, but there were quirky things that would happen between the characters that made me laugh not as much from the humour but from the discomfort as a result of the situations. I agree, I’m sure having such a cast set expectations for audiences. Thanks for your insight and for reading :)

What's your two cents?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers

